Trade Licence Cost

What a UAE trade licence actually costs

Free zone prices, visa fees and renewals, taken from the authorities' own pages and dated.

What the free zones actually publish

Two of the five zones below print a starting price you can plan against. The other three ask you to request a proposal, so this table says "not published" rather than repeating a consultant's number.

Filter free zones

Showing 5 of 5 free zones

Starting prices UAE free zones publish on their own sites, checked 2026-09-12
Free zoneEmirateStarting priceWhat the price coversVisa allocationRenewal
Meydan Free Zone Dubai AED 12,500 Up to three activity groups and a flexi-desk AED 1,850 per visa , up to 6 AED 12,500
RAKEZ Ras Al Khaimah AED 6,000 up to 10 activities and coworking membership not stated not stated
IFZA Dubai not published Not published Not published Not published
DMCC Dubai not published Not published Not published Not published
Shams Sharjah not published Not published Not published Not published

Estimate your own first-year fees

Visa fees, as the authorities publish them

People are quoted one number for a visa. On the official pages it is always several.

GDRFA Dubai

1,100AED

Golden residence permit, investor route

The permit fee is AED 1,100, then a Knowledge Dirham of AED 10, an Innovation Dirham of AED 10, and AED 500 more if you apply from inside the UAE.

Golden visa cost, line by line

MOHRE, via u.ae

250-3,450AED

Work permit

Issuing or renewing one costs AED 250 to AED 3,450. Where you land in that range depends on how the ministry classifies your company, not on the job.

Employment visa cost guide

Meydan Free Zone

3,500AED

Employment visa in a free zone

Meydan lists AED 3,500 for the visa itself, and before that a quota fee of AED 1,850 per visa. Each hire is two lines on the bill, not one.

Estimate it for your team

Three markets, three levels of disclosure

The UAE publishes most of its fees. Qatar and Kuwait publish the rules and the timeframes, then hold the amounts behind a portal or a ministerial decision.

9%

Corporate tax on taxable income above AED 375,000

United Arab Emirates

Taxable income up to AED 375,000 is taxed at 0%, and 9% above that. The licence fee is the first line of the budget, not the last.

100%

Foreign ownership at the Qatar Financial Centre

Qatar

The Qatar Financial Centre says a business set up with it can be 100% foreign owned. Its licence fees are not published on its homepage; applicants get them through the client portal.

30

Working days, at most, for a KDIPA licence decision

Kuwait

KDIPA gives its final decision within 30 working days. Its service fees are set by Ministerial Decision No. 182 of 2022, but the licensing page does not print the amounts.

For business setup consultants

Founders arrive here having already compared the fees themselves. If you set up companies in the UAE, Qatar or Kuwait, tell us which requests you want to receive.

For consultants