Trade Licence Cost

UAE free zone costs, side by side

Five free zones, the prices they publish themselves, and an estimator that adds up only those published lines.

Last checked

Estimate your first-year fees

Three choices. Totals use only the fees each free zone publishes.

Residence visas
Business activities
Workspace

Meydan Free Zone

Published fees add up to

0AED

Licence, three activity groups, flexi-desk
Extra activities
Visa allocation
Visas
Workspace

RAKEZ Biz Starter

Published fees add up to

0AED

Package, up to 10 activities, coworking membership
Visas
Workspace

Meydan describes some of these figures as "around" or "from". They are added as written. Meydan licence: AED 12,500; RAKEZ package: AED 6,000.

What each zone publishes

Filter by emirate, or by whether the zone prints a price at all. Three of the five do not, which is itself worth knowing before you spend a week collecting proposals.

Filter free zones

Showing 5 of 5 free zones

Starting prices UAE free zones publish on their own sites, checked 2026-09-12
Free zoneEmirateStarting priceWhat the price coversVisa allocationRenewal
Meydan Free Zone Dubai AED 12,500 Up to three activity groups and a flexi-desk AED 1,850 per visa , up to 6 AED 12,500
RAKEZ Ras Al Khaimah AED 6,000 up to 10 activities and coworking membership not stated not stated
IFZA Dubai not published Not published Not published Not published
DMCC Dubai not published Not published Not published Not published
Shams Sharjah not published Not published Not published Not published

What the estimator leaves out

It adds up licence, activity, visa allocation, visa and workspace fees. Three things it cannot add, because nobody publishes them as fixed amounts:

  • The medical test and Emirates ID for each resident. Meydan puts these at AED 2,000 to AED 2,500 in a solo founder's first year, which is its own estimate of other bodies' charges, not a fee it sets.
  • Bank account opening. Timelines and minimum balances are set by each bank, and none of the zones publishes them.
  • Anything a consultant adds for doing the paperwork. That is their fee, not the zone's.

Two discounts do appear in writing. Meydan lists up to 15% off on multi-year setups, and its faster Fawri licence starts from AED 15,000, which is worth checking against the standard route before you pay for speed you may not need.

If a consultant's quote is far below the published licence fee, ask which year it covers. A first-year promotion that renews at the standard rate is a normal offer, but it should be stated, not discovered twelve months later.